Deutsch | English | Français | Español | Русский

Statements



The following statements are from Kant scholars who read my work before it was published. My thanks go to the authors for their permission to include their comments here.

Hans Poser (Berlin)

"All in all, the work has a thoroughly original thesis, with far-reaching implications. In methodological terms, it is extremely carefully prepared and presents, at the end, a conclusion that proves the dissertation's remarkable fruitfulness. Hence, the work shows a critical engagement far above average with a very difficult topic and in an exceptionally independent way."

Walter Jaeschke (Bochum)

"This is a remarkable doctoral dissertation which, as it were, rises far above the sea of secondary literature – not, admittedly, like a peaceful island tempting visitors to tarry but as an abruptly rising rock that will shatter some of the little ships keenly steered along the mainstream of Kant interpretations. … The problem of the postulates in the Critique of Practical Reason has been repeatedly addressed over a good two hundred years … and this work stands out for its completely, even revolutionary analysis of this problem; … moreover, this [is carried out] in a careful, well considered form that sets a benchmark in method."

Dieter Henrich (Munich)

[Statement to be submitted]

Mathias Wunsch (Berlin, Wuppertal)

"For Kant, God and pure practical reason are identical. Gerhard Schwarz has developed a thesis focusing on the postulate of God in the "Critique of Practical Reason" that has immense consequences and is seemingly at odds with conventional readings of Kant's concept of reason. Thanks to its clarity, and methodically reflected approach, its wealth of evidence, as well as its anticipation and repudiation of objections, the research achieves a level of argumentation that represents a major challenge to the criticism which can be expected of his thesis."

Monika Kopyczinski (Berlin)

"It is not easy to find and maintain a standpoint of one's own against the stream of one's time. In his work, however, Gerhard Schwarz has shown that it is still possible today to retain independence of thought and scientific research and not be content with the widespread prejudices and 'dogmas' in academic philosophy. The result is the discovery of a central moment in Kantian philosophy which has been repressed and silenced by the main body of reception for over two hundred years."

Deutsch | English | Français | Español | Русский

Statements

 

Hier kommen Kant-Kenner zu Wort, die meine Arbeit bereits vor Drucklegung gelesen haben und zu den Inhalten Stellung beziehen. Ich bedanke mich bei allen Autorinnen und Autoren sehr herzlich.

Hans Poser (Berlin)

"Insgesamt vertritt die Arbeit eine überaus originelle und weitreichende These. Methodisch ist sie ausgesprochen sorgfältig gearbeitet, und am Ende steht ein Fazit, das die bemerkenswerte Fruchtbarkeit der Dissertation klar ausweist. Damit stellt die Schrift eine weit über dem Durchschnitt liegende Auseinandersetzung mit einem höchst schwierigen Thema in äußerst eigenständiger Weise dar."

Walter Jaeschke (Bochum)

"Dies ist eine bemerkenswerte Dissertation, die gleichsam aus dem Meer der Sekundärliteratur herausragt – freilich nicht wie eine friedliche Insel, die zum Verweilen einlädt, sondern wie ein schroffer Fels, an dem so manches von eifrigen, dem Hauptstrom folgenden Kant-Interpreten gesteuerte Schifflein zerbersten wird. ... Diese Arbeit ragt dadurch heraus, daß sie das seit gut zwei Jahrhunderten immer wieder ... behandelte Problem der Postulatenlehre der Kritik der praktischen Vernunft in völlig neuer, ja revolutionärer Weise exponiert; ... dies [geschieht] zudem in einer sorgfältigen, sehr reflektierten, methodisch Maßstäbe setzenden Form".

Dieter Henrich (München)

[Statement zugesagt]

Mathias Wunsch (Berlin, Wuppertal)

"Gott und reine praktische Vernunft sind für Kant identisch. Gerhard Schwarz entwickelt diese folgenschwere und offenbar quer zu den gängigen Auffassungen von Kants Vernunftkonzeption liegende These im Fokus auf das Gottespostulat der "Kritik der praktischen Vernunft". Seine Untersuchung erreicht aufgrund ihrer Klarheit, ihres methodisch-reflektierten Vorgehens, ihrer Fülle an Belegen Sowie ihrer Antizipation und Zurückweisung verschiedenster Einwände ein Argumentationsniveau, das die zu erwartende Kritik an seiner These vor große Herausforderungen stellt."

Monika Kopyczinski (Berlin)

"Es ist nicht leicht, gegen den Widerstand seiner Zeit einen eigenen Standpunkt zu finden und zu behaupten. Gerhard Schwarz zeigt aber mit seiner Arbeit, daß es auch heute möglich ist, die Eigenständigkeit im Denken und wissenschaftlichen Forschen zu bewahren und sich nicht mit verbreiteten akademisch-philosophischen Vorurteilen und 'Dogmen' zufrieden zu geben. Das Ergebnis ist die Entdeckung eines wesentlichen Zuges der Kantischen Philosophie, der seit über 200 Jahren vom Hauptstrom der Rezeption verdrängt und totgeschwiegen worden ist."